Some vintage cards and a very old newspaper clipping

My mom is compiling a family genealogy and has unearthed some real treasures. On our Thanksgiving visit, I got a chance to look through some of the things she found, and here are a few items that I thought were especially charming. The first image is a set of cards that had been stuck in an envelope with “1932” scrawled on the back, though the cards had clearly been saved from earlier years. There have been three succeeding generations since the adoring little boy who so lovingly gifted them many Mother’s Days ago has grown, sired his own family and passed on. I love them. The color schemes used, the priceless line drawings of the rosy-cheeked little children (those clothes- I would gladly dress a daughter of mine in that sweet little red frock), and of course there’s the little note with the misspelled “Dady.” Awww.

The text on the newspaper-clipping recipe is (as closely as I can tell):

Always the Best
A RECIPE Worth Keeping
HICKORY NUT CAKE
THIS CAKE WILL KEEP FOR MONTHS
One cup of butter, two cups of sugar, one cup of sweet milk, three eggs (whites and yolks beaten separately), one half nutmeg grated, one teaspoonful extract of lemon, one pint hickory nut kernels chopped, one pint currants washed and dried, one pint of seedless raisins, mix together: add five cups of flour, having in it one and a half measures “Banner” Baking Powder: bake one and a quarter hours in a tolerably slow oven. This cake will keep for months.

Although I am not fond of cakes with dried fruit in them, I am as smitten by this clipping as I was by the cards. I have an inner urge to try to create this cake, although I have absolutely no urge to eat a piece of it. I’m just so tickled by the whole pitch. The line that “This cake will keep for months,” indicates how practical this dessert would be, but I can’t imagine such a line boding well on any food package today. Be sure to bake it in a “tolerably slow oven…”

Leave a Reply

