Jelly Love

Mmmm.


This is a family treasure- a super easy one, as I generally prefer my cooking to be. “Jelly Oatmeal Bars” have been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. Slapped a batch of them together (with peach jelly) and the husband has declared them quite worthy. I like them with grape, peach or blackberry jelly, although hubby doesn’t care for the blackberry. I’m betting they’d be good with apple jelly too, but have never tried it. Pretty much any recipe with oatmeal and fruit is good. I found this a few months go and can’t stop making them. Apple and hot, baked oatmeal. Ahhh.

The recipe for the dessert pictured is:
Jelly Oatmeal Bars 350 degrees
1 1/4 c flour
1 1/4 c oats
1/2 c sugar
3/4 c butter
5 oz. of jelly (your choice of flavor)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp vanilla

Mix everything and take 1 cup of mix and push in 9×9″ pan. Spread 5 oz. of jelly on top. Spread rest of crumb mixture on top and bake 22-27 minutes.

On an unrelated note, I really love this drawing at Art and Ghosts.

Leave a Reply

