Making crayons.

The crayons grouped together. Pretty, pretty.



Hubby and I made these last night, and a good time was had by both. I have been wanting to do this project with my preschool class for some time now, but needed to try it out first. I am glad I did- it is easy and quick with good results, but I’ve learned a few things about it:
1. The hardest part is cutting up the crayons. If you plan to do this, get that out of the way ahead of time.
2. Don’t touch the crayons when you pull them out of the oven. I stirred mine (couldn’t resist) and it messed them up.
3. The bottom of the crayon looks much better than the top when they come out of the pan.

4 Comments »

  1. Renee Said:

    Those are so neat! How do you make them? (I am assuming that it isn’t just heated broken crayons). If that is all it is then make something up so I don’t feel like a dummy!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Um… um… it isn’t heated broken crayons! It’s um.. some big, brilliant scientifically challanging uh…

      It’s heated broken crayons. Sorry. But don’t feel like a dummy- check out the link on the blog and you can see how they’re made. Super easy!
      150 degree oven, 15 minutes or so, and PRESTO!

  2. Caren Said:

    These are so awesome looking! You can use candy molds for these, too, if you want to shape them like stars or snowmen or letters…

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thanks! I actually got some cookie/candy molds to do them with the kids 🙂 I feel like I should make a batch of them first as well just so I have a good bearing of how much it will fill up. Not sure if it’s worth the effort…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

