Corn bread recipe.

We had my variation of this cornbread for breakfast. I found it on AllRecipes and have customized it a bit, as follows:‎

Honey Cornbread 375 º‎

‎1 cup all-purpose flour
‎1 1/4 cup cornmeal‎
‎1/4 cup sugar‎
‎1 teaspoon baking powder‎
‎1 teaspoon baking soda‎
Dash salt
‎1 1/3 cups half-and-half cream
‎1/4 cup butter or margarine, melted‎
‎1/4 cup honey‎
‎1 egg‎
‎3 teaspoons vanilla extract‎

‎1. In a bowl, combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In ‎another bowl, combine the remaining ingredients; stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. ‎
‎2. Pour into a greased 9-in. ovenproof skillet. Bake at 375 degrees F for 20 minutes or until a ‎toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. ‎

The only real changes I made to the original recipe are the substitution of the corn for an extra ‎half cup of cornmeal, and the baking time & temp. It could be my oven doing this, and it could ‎be the change of ingredients, but I have found that this bakes very quickly and if I don’t watch it ‎closely it burns. ‎The honey gives it just the right ‎sweetness and complements the flavor of the cornmeal perfectly. I don’t normally care all that ‎much for corn bread; I made this the first time because I needed corn bread crumbs to prepare ‎stuffed duck and have been a fan ever since.‎



Switching subjects, I received my copy of Hadestown yesterday, and it was well worth the ‎purchase. It’s kind of Peter Paul and Mary meets Greek mythology meets Motown, which may ‎not sound like a promising combination, but (believe me) it is fantastic!‎

Leave a Reply

