Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookie Recipe.

Found this a couple days ago and tried them out tonight after dinner for the first time. Oh my. They are everything they promise to be, although they are also a bit tricky to construct. I think they could have used crushed graham cracker crumbs in the peanut butter filling to make it a little easier to work with. Very sticky and gooey- I put a lot of flour in my hands to roll the filling and then placed them on a plate with flour on it. For the outside, I flattened a ball of the chocolate dough and pinched it like a Chinese dumpling. I didn’t press them with a glass at all- instead, I lightly pressed each cookie on the baking sheet with my hand and left them at that. Also, I baked them with the oven slightly cooler and for a little less time- more like five minutes-ish. I got fifteen cookies from this recipe, rather than 30.

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar
3/4 cup peanut butter
Directions
1.In small bowl blend flour, cocoa and baking soda. Mix until well blended.
2.In large bowl beat sugar, butter or margarine and 1/4 cup peanut butter, until light and fluffy. Add vanilla and egg, beat. Stir in flour mixture until blended. Set aside.
3.To make Filling: Combine confectioner’s sugar and 3/4 cup peanut butter. Blend well.
4.Roll filling into 30 – 1 inch balls. For each cookie, with floured hands, shape about 1 Tablespoon of dough around 1 peanut butter ball, covering completely. Place 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten with glass dipped in sugar.
5.Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 7-9 minutes. When cookies are done, they should be set and slightly cracked.

I let myself eat two, but tomorrow I don’t have to go to work… I seriously don’t know how I’m going to survive the entire day with those things calling out to me from the kitchen. Maybe I’ll pack them all up and send them to work with my husband. (yeah, right.)

1 Comment »

  1. Renee Said:

    Get thee behind me Satan! I don’t want your recipe because just looking at the picture added 2 pounds on me. It looks scrumpious.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

