Marshmallows!

Put these together last night, and I was pleasantly surprised to find them both easy to make and yummy to eat. I followed the directions from this recipe pretty closely, and had no trouble at all. I also allowed the sugar mixture to boil above 250 degrees, but I had no trouble beating the sugar and gelatin mixture together. After a few seconds on a slower speed, I was easily able to bring the speed of the beaters up to high with no fear of the sugar splashing on me. It took almost ten minutes of beating for the mixture to whip to its full volume for me.

A few things I learned were: After you’re done beating, the mixture becomes VERY sticky and difficult to spoon into the pan. Powdered sugar on the spatula or spoon helps with this. Make sure the pan is fully greased in butter and coated with powdered sugar. I was meticulous on this, working on the suspicion that I would be glad I did later, and I definitely was. I covered the pan with wax paper to dry out for the night, and used a rotary pizza cutter to cut the pieces. I found that keeping a little powdered sugar handy to roll the individual pieces in helped with the stickiness as well.

4 Comments »

  1. Renee Said:

    Very interesting, they do look neat. Was the effort worth the finished product? How do they taste?

  2. kirinjirafa Said:

    They taste great, probably cost about the same as a bag of marshmallows and weren’t too much work. If I wanted marshmallows for something, I’d still probably just buy a bag, but as a project, this was fun.

  3. Renee Said:

    Correction: By how do they taste I meant do they taste like store-bought marshmellows?

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      yep! just like them


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

