decoupage and free range kids

First off, the hubby and I have been making decoupage eggs together since Easter, and I am still enjoying it. We’ve been taking our time, so we still have a couple more eggs to go through, but so far I think they’re pretty nifty. I’ve experimented with different paper thicknesses and textures, but would have to admit that the thinner they are the better… big surprise. I used
Mod Podge
, applied with a paper towel (my husband’s idea- I had previously used a sponge, but this is a lot easier). The paper I used here is a thin piece of printed origami paper. I considered embellishing it with some gold ink, but I haven’t decided if I want to do that or not yet. As it stands, it looks finished to me, but I really like mixed media and think it would be a very funky combination.

Secondly, I discovered this post today, and although I don’t really want to use this blog as a soapbox, I really liked the idea. I want to read this lady’s book, Free Range Kids before I form too strong of an opinion here (and I would LOVE to read some actual statistical data on the subject collected objectively through valid research), but I can honestly identify with the claim that kids’ independence and security is inversely related to the level of sheltering protection they are given by their parents. You’ve gotta read this lady’s blog– she’s not a radical, she just believes in teaching practical independence to her children . (gasp) People are calling her “controversial” and even a terrible parent because of this type of thing. Oh please.

Free-Rangers believe in helmets, car seats, seat belts — safety! We just do NOT believe that every time school age kids go outside, they need a security detail."

1 Comment »

  1. I am so happy to see you don’t think I’m radical! I don’t think I am either! Very much appreciate an open mind. Meantime: WHAT GORGEOUS EGGS!! Happy to have found you. Even the WORDS “Modge Podge,” bring back a whole lot of great memories. (Mostly about covering my assignment notebook with magazine photos back in junior high!) Thanks for that, too. — Lenore


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

