Alice Apron and Some Moldovan/Romanian Techno-Disco-Dance Mix


While their biggest hit had to be “Dragostea din tei” (aka the Numa-Numa song), this Moldovan… er… Romanian… boy band actually made a whole album of cool stuff (three albums, to my knowledge, though I can’t vouch for the quality of the other two since I’ve never heard them). Disco-Zone is a crowning piece of my music library, and this song, De Ce Pling Chitarele, is one of my favorites from it. My understanding is that it’s a traditional (Moldovan?) song and that it’s basically a sad-breakup type of thing. I just like the sound and composition. Techno-Eurodance-Disco with a little smattering of New Kids on the Block? Yeah, they’re a little fruity, but they have great rhythm. Alas, I think the band broke up after this album.

gotta love the album art

I’ve enjoyed looking at the Tie One On apron galleries for a while now, and have been kind of wanting to do one of my own. It’s basically a flikr group where people can make aprons based on a chosen theme and post pictures- like grown up show and tell… neat, huh? The current theme being “Alice in Wonderland,” I’ve been mulling over the idea but haven’t pursued it at all for lack of time. As it was announced today that the latest deadline has been extended to June, I believe I’m going to make one. I’m thinking of combining this pattern and the picture to the left here with a Queen-of-Hearts flair to it. I’ve never made an apron before, but hey, how hard can it be?

3 Comments »

  1. Renee Said:

    I liked that song, reminiscent of Selena’s style-in boy form. Good luck with the apron. I have a feeling whatever you make is going to be interesting. A suggestion? Make one for your Mother’s birthday, I would bet she would like that!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Selena… that’s interesting- the squeakinness, maybe? And the disco 🙂 My apron is off to a good start, I think- I’m thinking ric-rac and a quilted queen of hearts like the playing card- i think it’ll be cool. maybe a pocket too… I dunno. I’m still making drawings. And, actually, my mom may very well end up getting this, as I don’t think I’m going to be using it much myself. but don’t tell…

  2. Seth Said:

    Happy Birthday!

    Congratulations on another year. May the next 12 months be more profitable for the Kingdom than all the others.

    Seth


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

