Soup and The Lovely Bones

unbelievably tasty

Stupid camera batteries… I have no idea where they got off to. I must have a million sets of batteries and TWO rechargers, but as soon as my soup was ready and in the bowl, the batteries in the camera pooped out and I couldn’t locate any others or either of the rechargers… oh well. We had this asparagus soup for late lunch/ early dinner today, and I give it a perfect 10. It was delicious, easy to make and light. I used chicken broth instead of veggie broth and omitted the pepper. (the pic is a shot I ripped off of AllRecipes)

I watched The Lovely Bones today, and was quite pleased. Mind you, I like Peter Jackson’s heavy-handed CGI, so it did not come across as excessive to me. It added a kind of Dali-esque surreal feeling to Suzie’s experience, but IMDB was pretty brutal. Some of those reviews! (Chill out, people.) Okay, the ending lacked closure, but it was good otherwise. I may be reading into this, but I thought I detected a little Hitchcock undertone in occasional additions of the killer’s POV. I couldn’t help thinking of Norman Bates and the sinking car as he was scurrying to hide the evidence and the viewer almost wants him to get away with it… a slightly disturbing little effect for a movie which was all around well organized. I say, good job, Peter Jackson.

2 Comments »

  1. […] the subject a little, I am now reading The Lovely Bones, having just watched the movie. It is gut-wrenchingly sad, and I’m not sure if I like the book or the movie better. I […]

  2. […] the subject a little, I am now reading The Lovely Bones, having just watched the movie. It is gut-wrenchingly sad, and I’m not sure if I like the book or the movie better. I […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

