Clothing.

Using fabric that I’ve acquired from different sources, I have this mad desire to create a few different garments. One is a black and white Donna Reedish-looking dress, one is a rayon blouse with a big, floppy cowl neckline and possibly a peplum, and another is a set of A-line ankle-length corduroy skirts. I’m working on the blouse right now, but since i have no pattern and am making the whole thing up as I go, I don’t know how long it will take or how successful I will be. I have a feeling it’ll work out, but I think I need to draw up a pattern for the dress and skirts. This is probably the wrong way to go about the process.

black, brown and a patterned corduroy for the skirts

for the dress-- Normally I dislike yellow with black, but that pattern was so striking I just couldn't pass it up. If it doesn't go into the dress, it may become a handbag.

peach and gray rayon floral print for the blouse

Also, my new mad desire has not yet started me wanting to make a coat, but it’s gettin’ there. This is a polyester trench coat from Kate Spade, and I am growing more fond of it by the day. Before too long, I’m gonna be drawing up trench coat plans. I love the shape, the length and the little bow tie doo-jiggy in the back. What I don’t love is that it’s $645.

2 Comments »

  1. Rachel Said:

    Very fun! Love the coat too! That black and yellow is striking… definitely worth making an exception for 🙂 Isn’t this fabric cute?

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/53904862/pink-mod-blooms-vintage-fabric

    I don’t think for a moment I would be able to wear it, but it made me happy just looking at it! Hugs 🙂

    ~Rachel

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      I love that fabric! One of these days, I’m gonna learn how to print my own- wouldn’t that be cool? Then I’d REALLY have something to blow time and money on…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

