My Blouse

The blouse is done! (Most likely) This statement is less due to the blouse’s being finished than it is to my bad habit of getting sick of a project when it is 99.9% finished and then just ending it, but oh well… I was thinking of putting darts in the front and taking in the sides a bit to give it some more shape, but my sewing machine went a little berzerk on me this morning and I’m afraid to keep messing with this dumb thing.

Here are a few things I learned from the process:

  • I didn’t use a pattern for this. I had this mass rayon from somewhere and have always thought it was cool and would make a nice top, and the other day I started pinning it up and draping it around me and then repinning… and this shirt was born. For real. I really seriously did that. I should have drawn up plans and a pattern. Next time, I will do that- even if it’s a simple one.
  • Rayon is a very forgiving material to work with. The crinkly texture of this piece and the weight and floppinness hide a lot. I think I’m going to try to use it more and learn how to handle it better.
  • I need a serger.
  • I initially intended this to mask my belly fat. I thought the swingy bottom edge, busy neckline and fabric texture would cover for the stomach, but the opposite is true. I may one day bring the sides in or something to shape it a little more, because I look like I’m carrying the next set of octuplets when I turn sideways in this thing. But not today.

a closer shot of the collar and button detail

5 Comments »

  1. Renee Said:

    Gorgeous! I am impressed! I missed many of your blogs as my computer has been down for a lonnnnng time but I am catching up now. I really do think you did a lovely job on the blouse though esp. with no pattern!

  2. Cris Said:

    i LOVE this top! so cute and the first thing that i thought was that you looked so slim in it! i don’t think you look like the next octomom! lol

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      thanks, friend… i should email you the profile pics… πŸ˜‰

  3. rhea Said:

    wwwooooww !!!! mrsg its soooooo pretty !!!!!

    rhea

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thanks! πŸ˜€


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

