A hodgepodge of random endorsements *Warning- wordy soapbox post ahead*

With school starting up again, I’ve spent the last two days in my classroom preparing materials for the new batch of kids. These items are among some of my favorite teaching tools, although I have fewer opportunities to use them than I would like. They are children’s games made by the company Gamewright. Some are more challenging and some are simpler, but thus far they have all been well-recieved by my students. Children play the games, either adjusted for group play or in one-on-one tutoring sessions, and overlook the fact that they’re obviously educational for the sake of the kid-friendly cartoon graphics. I have used them during free time to get quiet kids to have something to interact with the others over and also taylored the games in different ways so that they can reinforce lessons (you get to play if you answer the drill question or whatever).

With this in mind, my husband has designed and created a card game of his own. It is entitled “I dunno Babe, why are you blogging this?” so I gather. It is composed of four different cards- “try again,” “end turn,” “you win,” and “you lose.” The object is to draw a card from the stack and follow it. The riveting action and hilarity continue until someone either draws the “you win” card (thus winning) or the dreaded “you lose” card (at which point they lose and are out of the game). Pretty snazzy, eh?

Finally, I wish to discuss Bible Study Magazine, also something from my husband. Excellent food for thought, especially in the current issue which has a particularly interesting article entitled “The Torah: Like a Spare Tire.”

I’ve mentioned before that I am a Christian- more or less a Baptist- and while I don’t typically use this blog as a podium, I enjoy talking about my faith and found this worth sharing.

If you’re not generally familiar with the theology here, I am of the camp that believes that mankind does not/cannot pay for sin (and never has- that’s important). There is a great deal of contention among my circles about this- a huge camp right now feels that keeping the Law perfectly was once what you had to do to deal with sin, and then failing that, God came to mankind (the life of Christ) and sacrificed Himself so that His sinless life and death would atone once and for all for ours. I feel this is inaccurate based on Matthew 5:17. I believe rather that Jesus Christ was always the means of paying for sin, and this author says the same thing- that’s where the spare tire bit comes in. His article is a brief analogy of sin being like a nail causing a flat tire, and the Law (that’s the Torah, BTW) being the spare, used to get to the garage (forgiveness in Christ) where you can get the problem fixed for real. Wow. Pretty clever, I say. The tire doesn’t suddenly become a bad thing, you don’t get rid of it, it just simply isn’t what you need for the long haul.

My husband says that the illustration is one of the most underrated teaching tools we have; a good one can drive home a point like nothing else, and I was impressed by this.

1 Comment »

  1. Seth Said:

    Every blogger writes about matters that touch theology, but some actually realize it.

    Exalting Christ as the only payment for sin, or the only payment that ever was for sin, will probably not cause anyone to disagree. As with most discussions, the difficulty is in the definitions.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

