I don’t blog enough poetry.

Poetry for kids!

Today, my nephew favored the family with some Robert Frost and I was delighted. I’ve been thinking lately that I used to read a lot more poetry, but have recently not been doing so; and that is known as “a shame.” I so enjoyed the performance that I decided to share it along with some other kid poetry. (Incidentally, the picture is an illustration by Erika LeBarre called “Blue Bird Flying with Suitcase,” and I felt it went quite well with this poem.)

Vacation for me!

The Last Word of a Blue Bird
As told to a child

As I went out a Crow
In a low voice said, “Oh,
I was looking for you.
How do you do?
I just came to tell you
To tell Lesley (will you?)
That her little Bluebird
Wanted me to bring word
That the north wind last night
That made the stars bright
And made ice on the trough
Almost made him cough
His tail feathers off.
He just had to fly!
But he sent her Good-by,
And said to be good,
And wear her red hood,
And look for the skunk tracks
In the snow with an ax-
And do everything!
And perhaps in the spring
He would come back and sing.”
~Robert Frost

This recitation was initiated (I think) by the discovery of an old folder of mine containing my handwritten copy of a favorite Shel Silverstein poem.

Poem On The Neck of a Running Giraffe

PLEASE
DO NOT
MAKE F
UN OF
ME AN
D PLEAS
E DON’T
LAUGH
IT ISN’T
EASY T
O WRIT
E A PO
EM ON
THE NE
CK OF
A RUN
NING
GIRA
FFE.
~Shel Silverstein

Yeah, that really would be tough...

And since I like adding slightly random things onto the ends of my posts, I found this poem and illustration while I was searching for an image from the Shel Silverstein poems to kind of go along with the Giraffe poem. This was cute, and about giraffes, so it is getting included:

Giraffe Calf

The calf and the giraffe took half a bath
The calf and the giraffe took half a bath
But the giraffe, she had to laugh
Because her calf was half giraffe
The calf in half a bath was half giraffe

~Alec “Papa” Tramposch

A Giraffe Calf in a Half Bath

Leave a Reply

