The King of May

I’ve read that this song was written as a tribute to Allen Ginsberg. Lately Natalie Merchant has found her way onto my playlists quite a lot and this song in particular. It never made a lot of sense to me before I heard that, but it seems to fit. Here are some of his Haiku:

Winter Haiku
I didn’t know the names
of the flowers–now
my garden is gone.

I slapped the mosquito
and missed.
What made me do that?

Reading haiku
I am unhappy,
longing for the Nameless.

A frog floating
in the drugstore jar:
summer rain on grey pavements.
(after Shiki)

Drinking my tea
Without sugar-
No difference.

On the porch
in my shorts;
auto lights in the rain.

~Allen Ginsberg

Leave a Reply

