Slytherin Arm Warmers

After finding this set on etsy or ebay or wherever it was, I made these. I have no idea where I will ever be able to wear them, but I just finished them a few hours ago and can’t stop putting them on and taking them off again. Maybe some nerdy convention where it’s okay to be an adult dressed up in comic book clothes? I don’t know… I need to find a neo-victorian crowd to hang out with so I can wear these things around. I am so giddy about this right now!

As for the specs, I used t-shirt knit for the gray fabric and cotton flannel for the green. The five strips of cloth are 12″ long and 2.5″ wide except for the upper-most stripe, which is 3.5″. I used 1/8″ brushed nickel eyelets from some scrapbooking store and the cord is cotton. There are 16 eyelets on each arm warmer, and the fold in which I embedded them is about 3/4″, but really I didn’t measure that- I put them on my arm and pinched them to a tightness that looked and felt right, pinned them there, and then ironed it before hammering in the eyelets with a setter that is pretty close to this one.

As per usual with my sewing projects, I started this thinking it would be as easy as 1-2-3. It ended up taking several days, and this is now my fourth set, but I finally got them done and am quite pleased with the outcome.

4 Comments »

  1. Very cool. I’m actually quite jealous. That’s beginning to be a pattern…

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thank you, thank you. : )

  2. kat Said:

    you should sell them…I’d buy a pair! Slytherin all the way..Im an adult Potter geek !

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Glad you like them 🙂
      I’m an adult potter geek too, as much as I try to deny it.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

