I’m a Junk Jewelry Junkie.

Sequins, Glitter, and Sparkly Things in General. I have a minor fetish for accessories, and this afternoon I was chatting it up with a friend who casually brought up the regular appearance of sequins in my gift giving… it made me laugh, and it made me think through my jewelry box, and then it made me wanna post on these awesome (and incredibly practical) Nicholas Kirkwood heels. They are inspired by Alice in Wonderland, and appear in lots and lots of blogs, but not in stores. I can’t think why. I mean, they’d be so good for wearing to a sci-fi fantasy comic book convention. In fact, I plan to attend a comic book convention, just so that I can wear these shoes.

It’s just my taste. The minimalist look is good, but in my opinion, minimalist clothing is better thought of as a catalyst for some stand-out detail. I have a problem with plastic jewelry for just that reason. A plain white button-up blouse is good for work, especially if you’re wearing a pair of bright yellow resin giraffe earrings. Here they are too, along with a few others of my favorite little thingamabobs.

I made the bracelets in these last two pictures. I got the necklace and earrings a while back when the kelly green trend was bursting onto the scene, and then I beaded the bracelets to complete the set.

4 Comments »

  1. Priscilla Said:

    This is Mom G. You did a nice job on the bracelets.

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thanks 🙂

  2. Those shoes are haunting, and the Queen of Hearts earrings are adorable.

  3. […] got this at Claire’s, but thought it made an awkward necklace. Here it is shortened to be a bracelet. I […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

