Make Your Own Laundry Detergent

I’m delighted to say that a week from now will see my family here. With them in mind, I thought it would be cool to share something my sister in law passed along to me- this method for homemade laundry detergent. I just threw together a batch last night and was chatting with a friend and she said I ought to blog it, and well, here I’m blogging it.

This was produced by The Simple Dollar, which is a blog/website repleat with handy little ways to live indie and less expensively.

As a side note, I put baking soda in the batch I made, which is a much weaker alkali than washing soda, but there was no washing soda at the store and I thought I’d see how it works like this. After having made it, I read somewhere that you can put baking soda in the oven at 350 for half an hour and it will alter it suitably. I am going to try to use this soap in a wash, and if it isn’t an effective detergent, I think I’ll just mess with it and see how it works. Who knows?

Leave a Reply

