DIY Mermaid Haircomb Chain Harness Thingy

I came across this a coupla days ago on shopbop and thought it was peachy.

As harness chain jewelery goes, it’s one of the better specimens. It has this Ren-Faire Mermaid kind of thing going- great with big loose wavy curls and an ankle length dress.

The nice thing about hair accessories like this is how easy they are to make. You will need six items: pliars, jump rings, connector bars, chain (I used two different types to give it dimension), combs, and epoxy. Altogether I spent about ten bucks on the metal findings, and I already had the pliars and epoxy, which respectively run about $2.50 and $10.00 for the low end materials you would want for this. If you go bargain hunting, you could conceivably do this whole thing for less than twenty dollars, if you are so inclined.

The construction is pretty straightforward, but I’ll outline it briefly anyway:

  1. Cut the chains to the lengths you want (I used about fourteen inches apiece).
  2. Attach the chains to the connector rings with a jump ring.
  3. Use the epoxy to fasten the connector rings to the combs. Make sure the rings are facing the same direction as the teeth of the combs.

Badda-bing, badda-boom.

I call this Schmotter collage "Steampunk Ren Faire Mermaid Goes to the Beach"

2 Comments »

  1. […] hair thingamajig Posted on June 25, 2011 by kirinjirafa I just posted this on my personal blog and thought I’d reblog it here too. I am such a huge sucker for kid jewelry and weird […]

  2. estaily Said:

    can u make a video on how to make this


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

