Plush Elephant!

Yaaaaay!
This past week was awesome! My two brothers and their families have come through town, and all in all, it was great. My sister in law brought me a set of quilting quarters and this little Heather Bailey Plush Elephant kit. I just finished my first elephant, and here she is. I’ve named her Esther.

The instructions have little hearts and stars you can make to stitch onto her side, but I decided that wasn’t complicated enough and made a little pocket instead.

It was pretty easy to follow the directions, but sufficiently challenging to make it feel like an accomlishment now that it’s done. I’d say it took me about four hours from start to finish, understanding that I start and stop a lot. The end product is satisfyingly cute, although I used bad scissors to cut the panels and made them slightly uneven, which showed up a little in the finished elephant. Overall, I would say this was a very good little pattern- I wanna get one of her other ones now and make it, although I may make a few more elephants now.

Thanks to my sis for the gift!

Since I post music on Mondays, I thought today’s post deserved something joyful and lighthearted. I give you Camille’s Le Festin from the soundtrack for the movie Ratatouille. Enjoy!

6 Comments »

  1. She turned out to be very cute! Good work, Friend!

  2. kirinjirafa Said:

    Thanks!

  3. Renee Said:

    She is adorable and can I assume that your next one is for your beloved Mother?

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Assume whateveeeeeever you want… lol!

      But don’t be surprised if you end up with a stuffed elephant. They’re pretty fun to make 😀

  4. Rachel Said:

    You are so awesome! You made it already and on top of that you made it your own… I not only love you; I love who you are 🙂
    Hugs,
    Rachel

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Awwww… thanks 😀
      and thanks again for giving this to me- it’s a ton of fun 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

