Empanadas

Made some empanadas the other day- yum. This could be thought of like the Argentine version of the hamburger. Easy, tasty, portable, and equally ubiquitous. I first tasted them back when my husband and I were just amigos, and then when we got engaged I made a batch while hanging out with his mom. The dough is her recipe, and the filling is sort of mine.

Meat Filling:
*I don’t think I’ve ever measured any of this, so I have to warn you that I’m guesstimating a bit.
1 1/2 lb Beef or Chicken Breast
1 C Peas and Carrots
1/2 C Corn
4 Diced Boiled Eggs
4 T Olive Oil
2 t Paprika
2 T Oregano
Salt to taste
Brown/cook the meat and mix it all together- nothing fancy here.
I sometimes add green olives- keep them seperate and put one olive in each empanada.
Traditionally, they also put raisins in them, but I leave those out.

Dough:
4 C Flour
1 1/2 C Warm Milk
1 T Baking Powder
Pinch of Salt
1 C Vegetable Shortening
1 Egg plus 1 Egg Yoke

You can also buy the dough in packages like this:

You mix the ingredients for the dough, roll little balls out, put the meat in the middle, fold and bake at 400 degrees until golden brown- about twenty minutes. Some people spread a little egg on top of them before they go into the oven just to give them a little extra color.

The trickiest part is constructing them, so I thought it would be easier to follow a series of pictures, rather than trying to describe the process with only text.

2 Comments »

  1. Rachel Said:

    Just… Yummmm! I need to make these soon, thank you for posting the recipe 🙂

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      You’re welcome! and enjoy 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

