Some abbreviated thoughts on my faith.

Superficially, the most profound thing about these lyrics is that they rhyme (which is typical of this genre). Underneath that, a deeper reality is that knowing God means having a completely vulnerable relationship with Him. This kind of music is very emotional and can be very moving, if you allow it to be, and that’s what its real function is. This song is about my accepting the simplicity of God being beyond me, and placing my faith implicitly in Him.

You can neither explain away faith nor can you generate faith by rationalizing it.

As a side note about this singer, I go back and forth on Annie Herring’s voice. There’s a quality in it that annoys me, frankly, but the earnestness and emotion with which she sings always brings me back to the spiritual nature of my faith. I love her love of God.

Leave a Reply

