Cream Cheese Peach Pie

I had a great piece of some kind of cream cheese peach pie the other day at a restaurant, and decided to make some of my own when I got home. I used this recipe as a base, and this as the crust.


I’ve adjusted the recipes a tad, as follows:

Puff Pastry Crust

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup butter, chilled and diced
1/2 cup sour cream

Directions
1.Place flour in a medium bowl. Cut in butter until mixture is the size of small peas.
2.Add sour cream. Stir with a fork until pastry forms a ball. Wrap in plastic and chill overnight. (You can also just put it in the fridge for 20-30 minutes.) When ready to use, roll pastry thinly (about 1/8 inch). Fold in quarters and place in pie pan. Trim edges and bake at 350 for about twenty minutes or until golden brown. Allow to cool.

Filling
Ingredients
8 oz cream cheese
1/2 cup powdered sugar
3/4 cup whipping cream
2/3 cup sugar
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 cup water
1/8 cup lemon juice
3 cups chopped canned peaches

Directions
1. Whip cream first. Soften and beat together sugar and cream cheese, then blend in with whipped cream. Spread into cooled pastry shell.
2. In a large saucepan, combine the sugar, cornstarch, water and lemon juice until smooth; stir in peaches. Bring to a boil over medium heat; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Cool. Spread over cream cheese layer. Refrigerate until serving.

This may look a little complicated, but it’s really easy to do. The important thing to remember is not to allow the peach (or whatever fruit) filling to overcook. Ruins the whole thing. ALSO, I forgot to chill the dough before I put it in the pan. It made a huge mess and I couldn’t think what I had done wrong on it until I read this again as I was typing it now. Make sure you chill the dough!

Enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. Renee Said:

    As I had the chance to sample this very pie, I would say accidently forgetting to chill the dough made it better! The thick puff pastry on the bottom only was delicious and it rose up the sides a little as it cooked so it was properly “pie-shaped” too. I will use your recipe for our next church get-together, and of course claim it as my own!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

