A Lovely Book


The Library, by Sarah Stewart

A friend told me she liked that I used the word “lovely” for this, so I’m using it again in the title, to let everyone else enjoy it too. Sarah Stewart’s The Library tells the story of Elizabeth Brown, bookworm. That’s about it. A woman loved books, read feverishly, and at the end of her life donated them to the town to be a library. It’s such a simple story, but its cheerful rhyming cadance and relatable plot (either you are like this character or you know someone like her) make it easily loveable. I found it at a used bookstore several years back, and have brought it out to my class during March, “reading group” month in my school, to fuel the reading bug for my kids. The illustrations are exquisite.

Leave a Reply

