Mae West

Mae West. I couldn’t pick a favorite song, so I’m posting two. She really wasn’t a very good singer, was she? Not super pretty either, if you ask me (which no one ever did). She just had such great stage presence- she was a very glamorous lady.

I’m making a paper doll- I had intended to make it downloadable to go with this post, but it isn’t done yet. Almost.

This song is “Easy Rider,” and was the first thing I ever heard of her. A woman lamenting that her favorite jockey is no longer around, and now she keeps losing money. Keep it classy, Girl. I love it.

3 Comments »

  1. Love this post! šŸ™‚

  2. zebranay Said:

    Nostalgia-love it. Reminds me of when I was a kid and Mom would play these kind of records all the time. Can’t wait to see the paper doll. By the way if you didn’t guess, it wasn’t Mae’s voice that made her so popular, at least with the gents anyway!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Hmmm… really? If it wasn’t her voice, then I wonder what it WAS that made her “popular with the gents.”

      Hmmmmm.

      What a classy, classy lady. lol
      But she was a great entertainer, though.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

