The Woman in Black

I found this book, The Woman in Black: A Ghost Story on Amazon recomended with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. It looked kinda cool, and upon readin up on it I learned that the film adaptation will be starring one Daniel Radcliffe. Well then. I watched the trailer (Attached below. There’s a really creepy monkey in it.) As I am a bit of a Harry Potter fan, that sealed the deal. I got the book and read it with my husband in no time at all, and can now say that it was a good buy.

I was expecting a campfire-style ghost story, and that is exactly what Susan Hill delivers. It has the scary house that the local villagers are sure is haunted, the brash and naive out-of-town guy, a faithful dog, and a fine assortment of things that go bump in the night. What it doesn’t have is a violent explosion scene with a helicopter chase and aliens bursting out of people’s chests. The scariness in the book operates on cognitive dissonance and the power of understatement. I don’t want to say too much, but it’s what no one wants to talk about that makes the reader feel nervous for the characters. It’s a good little read.

Well, I’m watching the movie when it is released next year. This was the first trailer, and I think it’s the one with the most tension since there’s no dialogue. Those little girls and the windchimes and the awkward American-accented nursery rhyme sounding jingle recited in the background. Gotta love it. I think I’m gonna make s’mores and drink hot apple cider when I watch this.

Leave a Reply

