High-Heeled Cupcakes

A while back I passed by one of those cutesy cupcake books in a bookstore, which, like the Loraxian thneed, is something everyone needs. No life is complete without it. I’m sure of this, because it is 1:40 in the morning, and I now understand for the first time in my life how important it is that everyone out there purchase a cupcake book. Cupcakes, Cookies & Pie, Oh, My! Click here to purchase your copy now, and I’ll wipe the drool off of my keyboard.

Someone I know was having a shoe-themed party, and I was asked to produce some cupcakes for it, and they were cute. Brother, they were so cute that every fluffy bunny on the planet packed up and went home because he couldn’t compete. I’d put Precious Moments out of business if they were any cuter. They had to be blogged. I’m thinking now that there was some previous desire to blog them before the party, and also that I had something a little more substantive that I had intended to say about them, but I don’t remember any of that now. I’m so friggin sleepy.

Anyway, here’s how you make them.

You need:

  • a cake mix
  • frosting
  • food coloring
  • decorator cupcake papers
  • pirouette cookies
  • graham crackers
  • about 24oz. white chocolate chips
  • colored sugar
  • colored candies like M&Ms and gumballs and stuff

I should warn you that this project will take over your kitchen, so prepare to have several large work areas consumed by it. I tried to do it in phases to cut back on having every available flat surface taken up, but even then the kitchen was one big cupcakey traffic jam from the start of the project to the finish. Also, in case you didn’t know this, you can melt white chocolate in the microwave, but stir it every 15-20 seconds or it will burn and your house will stink. When you construct the shoes, be sure to use a good amount of white chocolate, and when it cools and begins to harden, melt it again. If you don’t have enough of it, the shoes won’t stay together.

Have fun!

***update: LOOK AT THIS LINK!!! Wow. This woman is amazing.

***I don’t get paid to review any of the books or materials on my blog- I buy them for the love of having them and talk about them because I want to.

2 Comments »

  1. Zan Turner Said:

    Wow!!!!!!!!!! You design cupcakes! I truly love those.. I love your creations!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thanks Zan 😀
      And thanks for visiting my little blog 😀


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

