The Carrot that Ate Cincinnati

So here’s a little cool surprise- I went out to work in my garden for a few hours today to get it started for this coming summer. I was just pulling out all the weeds and junk that had grown in from the spring, and along the way I came across a ton of carrots that I had missed last fall. They were all still alive and okay! Isn’t that cool?

Apparently, they had spent the tepid winter eating, because they were all about the size of my arm. I think they were hoping to sneak by unnoticed and form an unholy carrot army of the night that would take over the world. You’ll be glad to know that I have annihilated the danger by making soup out of them this afternoon.

Beef and carrot soup. Nom-nom-nom. By the way, if you’re wondering about the title, I ripped it off from this song, which you should listen to and be enriched by.

4 Comments »

  1. Karen Said:

    I had huge carrots like that last year but they were only in the ground four months.

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Wow! I’m pretty new to gardening carrots, so this was a first for me. I’ve never seen carrots a)survive a winter and still keep growing, or b)grow large enough that they would potentially need their own bedroom if I didn’t cook them immediately. I’m still geeking out over it. 🙂

  2. Rachel Said:

    How cool!! And they are the size of your arm…and how about that ‘unholy army’ of carrots…from the looks of it they do look like a mean bunch!

  3. zebranay Said:

    I think that is such a neat surprise to have! Enjoy!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

