It’s a Tradition in My Country! Sort of.

There was this thing that I remembered from my youth just the other day:

Since I was too stupid to take a picture of my own, this is pretty much what mine looked like. I snagged the picture from this website.

If you have spent much time in the USA, chances are you have seen some species of this delectable creation appear on some potluck table at a social event, and that was most likely around the fourth of July.

Obviously, the gimmick is the white whipped cream coating the top with blueberries and strawberries arranged on it to look like Old Glory. Pretty much anything could be going on underneath and it is a great big pyrex pan of homespun patriotism. However. The way I remember having it most often is as a dirt cake, which means layers of crunched up Oreos, chocolate pudding and whipped cream.

It’s not a dessert I produce very often because for one thing it’s very fattening, and for another thing the blatent Martha Stewartesque adorableness kind of turns me off. The other day though, I was thinking about this and mentioned to my husband how it had been a long time since I’d had a helping of that jello-pudding-creamy-oreoy gunk that people make around the fourth that always gets decorated to look like a flag, and he had never heard of it. Having grown up in South America, he had missed out completely on this experience. It was so funny to me, and I know I’m totally attributing more sentimental meaning to this than it deserves, but he had never tasted this piece of Americana. That settled it. I made two pans (a 9×9 pan and a 9×13 pan), and here’s the recipe I used to produce that much:

American Flag Dirt Cake Gunk

Ingredients:
2 packs of Oreo cookies
2 8oz. blocks of cream cheese
1 Cup heavy whipping cream
1 Cup powdered sugar
2 8 oz jars of marshmallow fluff
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 boxes of chocolate pudding (fully prepared, I mean- prepare two boxes of chocolate pudding. I’m overexplaining.)

Mash up the Oreos (tip- I put them in a gallon ziplock bag and crunch them with a rolling pin) then mix in half a block of cream cheese (still in the ziplock). Press about half of that mixture onto the bottom of the pans as the crust. Spread the chocolate pudding on top of that as the second layer, and sprinkle the rest of the crushed Oreo mixture on top of the pudding for the third layer.

Whip cream (in a cold bowl) and once it has risen, add vanilla, powdered sugar, marshmallow fluff and the rest of the cream cheese (another tip- this is easier to incorporate if it’s softer, so if it’s cold put it in another ziplock and submerge it in hot water until it’s nice and soft). This is layer number four. You are done. (Oh- another tip. Glop the whipped cream mixture on top of the Oreos in big piles and spread in an outward direction so that it spreads evenly and the colors stay seperated.)

Decorate the top with sliced strawberries and blueberries. One package of each will be enough even though I didn’t put that in the ingredients.

This is one I actually made.

If you do it in the wrong order or skimp on the ingredients or whatever, guess what? It’s still awesome. That’s the beauty of dirt cake. If you layer pudding, crushed Oreos and some kind of whipped cream, you’ll love it so much you’ll wanna marry it. It’s like eating a pan full of sugar. Let me reiterate that this dessert does not get made very often in my home.

Of course, you have to eat “dirt cake” with gummy worms. Of course.

2 Comments »

  1. Linda Said:

    Oh, yummy! Why didn’t you make it when you were here?

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Next time we’re out your way, you got it!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

