Alice in Wonderland Cupcakes

I made a batch of cupcakes on Friday, and half of them were gobbled up immediately with a box of strawberries (my previous post) and the other half were reserved for artistic purposes.

I’m going through a bit of an Alice in Wonderland phase right now, I’ve been itching to produce Alice-themed art, and here it is:


I used the frosting I described in Saturday’s post with colored sugar to create the glittery tops, and formed the leaves and vines and stuff using candy clay. (A 12 oz bag of white chocolate chips melted in the microwave- stir frequently, it burns easily- then a 1/3 Cup of light corn syrup blended in. Cover tightly with plastic wrap when these are thoroughly incorporated and store at room temperature for up to four days. I dye mine with food coloring and sculpt it just like modeling clay. Which means those cute little decorations are fully edible to anyone brave enough to eat something that has been handled that much. )

What do you think?

10 Comments »

  1. johngoossen Said:

    I Like them!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      I kind of wish I had made a few more extras now though- I am starting to want to eat these.

  2. Geraldine Said:

    I think they’re awesome! 🙂

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thanks!

  3. Brittany Said:

    These are ADORABLE!! I am in love!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thank you 😀

  4. Mandie Said:

    These are seriously fantastic!!! I approve of you making more. 🙂

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      ❤
      glad you like em!

  5. zebranay Said:

    I think I would have shellacked them and saved them as really neat curios. THEN I would make a new batch and eat them all in one evening…..with coffee.

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      We finally started eating them last night. They’re actually quite tastey, and yeah, with coffee, naturally.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

