The Self Portraits of Anne Arden McDonald

I don’t think I’ve ever blogged about her yet, and if I have I would rather discuss her again then not. Here are some self portraits of Anne Arden Mcdonald. She is a sculpter, photographer, and general maker of wonderfulness.

I first discovered her through (of all things) an Etsy listing for a cast silver ring.

You can get one of them by clicking here. I was about to reword her description of it, but I found the same words on her website:

When I was evicted from my loft, I would close my eyes at night and draw pictures of little houses, and when I opened my eyes, the drawings were always surprising (you can see them here). It was as if they were tiny prayers for a home. This ring is an homage to that time—

I was honestly moved at the time by the simplicity of the design and the charm of the piece of jewelry, not to mention the backstory about her difficulties, that I looked up her website and went through all of her other posted artwork. Beautiful, haunting, but not in a gratuitously dark way.

I love the way she hunts down dilapidated buildings and poses alone in them. So very expressive, and so clever. When I look at one for a few minutes I think… this is my favorite.

As I type this, I can’t thinking that I’ve talked about her before, but I’m too interested in lovin’ on this stuff and too lazy to go check and see if I have already said all this or not. The other thing I’m currently too lazy to do (and too interested in the subject to do) is double-check her website and see if she is cool with people lifting her images and reblogging her. So, Anne, if you didn’t want me to do this, I’m sorry- I hope you’ll forgive me since your work is so lovely.

5 Comments »

  1. zebranay Said:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen this artist on your blog before. I like her work. It fits my mood on this dreary rainy day when I am by myself. Thanks for posting her!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Isn’t she great? Each of her portraits seems one-dimensional until you’ve looked at it for a while; I feel like I could write a book about each one after I’ve looked at it for a while.

      • zebranay Said:

        Yeah, I think you’re right. Her pictures take me back to some childhood memories in an odd way both bittersweet and still nostalgic.

  2. Rachel Said:

    Oddly, when I first looked at the portraits I didn’t know what to think about them, my first reaction was to feel a little sad,then when I went back for a second and third look, strangely I could relate to her standing or posing or whatever she was doing in each portrait. I thought of how as a little kid me and Sarah and the brothers would go “exploring” in the old abandoned farmhouses/barns that were around our house or when we would go to reinactments and explore the historical ruions of some long forgotten fort…I especially like the one where she is standing on top of the i think dirt leaning against the wall possibly looking out the window…very neat!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      I know- they’re so layered. At the first glance, they just come across as sad and a little dark, but after you look at them, each one has it’s own statement. The one where she’s pushing the wall… I think we’ve all been there.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

