Bookishness

My husband and I discovered a rare animal the other day (at least rare for where we live): the little hole in wall used bookshop. Anyone who has ever wandered through crowded aisles and smelled the old paper and gingerly passed precariously stacked piles of books knows what I’m talking about here… It is a delight. We’ve scoured the area for bookstores over the last ten years, and never found it somehow. We love going to bookstores so much that’s it’s kind of our shared vice. We both buy way too many books, and if your only bookstore is Barnes, well, it’s a great place, but it gets a little expensive. Not to mention that they all carry the same titles. This place is close to where we live and cozy and FULL of shelves of used books.

As a child, one of my favorite places to go was Mrs. Sell’s Used Books. It was a shop run from an old house with old siding, and the only advertisement it had was a hand-painted yellow and green sign that said “USED BOOKS” out by the road. To this day, I can’t tell you how such places make ends meet. It doesn’t seem to make sense, but I’m so glad they exist.

I am currently reading the Dashiell Hammett classic

The Maltese Falcon. It’s my first time through this book (I’ve never watched the movie, either, and by some miracle I don’t know the ending yet. If you tell me what happens, I will be forced to key your car and shave your dog, so please keep the spoilers to yourself.)

Anyway, it has gotten me wanting to read some more short mystery stories, and of course I wanted to patronize the store, so I found this

and bought it. 23 Shades of Black by k.j.a. Wishnia. I’ve never heard of the author or the book. I have no idea yet what it’s about, but with a title like (However many) Shades of (Pick a color), how could I resist?

4 Comments »

  1. Miranda Said:

    I can get lost in used books… and usually end up coming home with at least one, if not an arm load. 🙂 Hope your new find is entertaining!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thanks 😀 It was just so cool to find the place! I had been starting to think used bookshops had gone for good.

      • Miranda Said:

        Sadly, they seem to be taking a hit. A local store (I just discovered!) is going out of business after 20 years… and I had 3 boxes of books to bring them!

      • kirinjirafa Said:

        oh that’s sad 😦
        but i can totally imagine why they would struggle with ebooks now


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

