Bewitched by the Dance

A big thanks to LitLib for guest blogging yesterday. I cannot believe I haven’t posted since November!

I was done in — done in by their glance from their champion stance, and bewitched by their dance.

I was done in — done in by their glance from their champion stance, and bewitched by their dance.

I’m happy to be back on Kirinjirafa again though, and delighted to tell you about the project that has had me incommunicado for the last several weeks. If you get a chance, please go check out Tom Nochera’s blog by clicking on that link or by looking him up on my blogroll. He is a terrific writer with a knack for creative children’s poetry. He has graciously allowed me to collaborate with him in publishing a set of his poems in a book, A Place That’s Fun.

But the butterfly danced from flower to flower, happy to be alive.

But the butterfly danced from flower to flower, happy to be alive.

babysitter-color

Hee hee hee! See what I mean? The first time I read that, I laughed out loud.

This process has been a terrific challenge, illustrating all of these poems, and I can’t wait to get the finished product in people’s hands. The title of this post is taken from “The People of Nance,” one of the nonsense stories in this collection. With their oddular glance and their champion stance and their dance of perchance… the people of Nance seem to do a lot of partying. I’m not really sure what all they do over there in Nance, actually, and I don’t want to know either. It’s more fun tumbling the silly words around and letting your imagination go places with them. That quality drew me in the first time I saw the writing for A Place That’s Fun; silly, playful, and certainly bewitching. Here’s an image from the title poem:

They jump and play all day, and eat from cake buffets.

They jump and play all day, and eat from cake buffets.

A Place That’s Fun will be available soon to purchase on Amazon either in print or as an ebook (and again, you don’t need a special device to view it- your pc or ipad or whatever will do just fine), and I hope you will pick up a copy.

7 Comments »

  1. Linda Said:

    I’ve not been good about blogging, either. I guess I don’t think my life is very exciting! Looks like a cute project you are involved in!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Thanks Linda 🙂 I’ve quit reading everyone else’s blogs, I’ve quit updating… everything. Blogging is a lot of fun, but then it can also be a lot of work, can’t it?

      • Linda Said:

        I’m signed up for a lot of blogs, but mostly, I read the headline. I always read my family blogs!

      • kirinjirafa Said:

        Yeah I know what you mean. Thanks for visiting and reading and commenting, by the way- it’s nice to have a readership 🙂 and it’s always nice to get people’s responses 🙂

  2. johngoossen Said:

    Looking forward to reading the whole thing.

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      me too!

  3. […] You probably know about Amazon’s cool “Look In” feature, where you (or others to whom you recommend the book) will be able to see some of our poems and artwork before you buy it. But if you wish to see more of the artwork right now, you can see Bethany’s blog post, right here […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

