Perspective and Cleverness and Shigeo Fukuda

underground piano

I have long been an admirer of Japanese artist Shigeo Fukuda. Honestly, I don’t know why it has taken me this long to post about him- his underground piano has always been a favorite sculpture of mine. I have often fantasized about creating a similar work, but never been successful (although I can make a pretty mean shadow puppet of a moose).

As you can see from the pictures, his sculptures are often jumbles of something unintelligible, like a pile of nails or silverware or even trash, which look like nothing unless you view them from just the right perspective. A certain angle, a shadow, a mirrored reflection, and pow, it becomes not only recognizable, but a complex work of art.

geisha shadow

fish words

eliptical dice

couple trash sculpture

ship shadow

piano violin sculpture

motorcycle shadow

Although I’m mostly enamored with the sculptured works, he has created some fun and equally sneaky graphic art too. I thought it warrented an inclusion- here are Musical Hair and the Mona Lisa:

musical hair

mona lisa

2 Comments »

  1. zebranay Said:

    Fantastic, I love it!

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      I know! Isn’t he so cool?


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

