Gladly, the Bear with Crossed Eyes

Happy Sunday, everybody- here is another crop of my Sunday morning sketches.

If you’ve been in a Christian church that sings traditional hymns, you know this gag isn’t original to me, and if you have never been in one, there’s a song called “Gladly the Cross I’d Bear.” It’s a classic misunderstanding for little Baptist kids to hear it and think this:

gladly, the cross eyed bear

When I was a kid, there was one hymn that confused me for ages. It was called “When the Roll is Called Up Yonder” (“up yonder” meaning up in Heaven). As a little girl, for years, I heard “When the Roll is Called a ‘Pyawnder'” and I could not figure out what it meant. Having two older siblings, though, my assumption was that whoever was saying the roll was a pyawnder must not have liked it (presumably a jealous lesser pastry). I figured “pyawnder” must have been something hurtful.

the roll is called a pyawnder
I always felt a little bad for the roll. Yes, this is a true story.

spring sketches

These are doodles from the Sunday School roster- mostly as Spring has begrudgingly begun to hit Chicago. I can’t remember what inspired my little commentary on clowns there, but I stand firmly behind the statement nonetheless. There’s also a sugar glider paper doll set that I’ve never cut out and tried, so I don’t know how well the pieces fit her.

alice paper doll

She has a party outfit, a comfy terry cloth robe with bunny slippers, and a gardening ensemble. If you put one together, could you let me know if it works or not?

Leave a Reply

