Hidden Picture Paper

When I was a kid, I loved getting a new issue of Highlights and finding the hidden pictures puzzles. The joys of scanning the intricate images for a toothbrush tucked away in the grain of tree bark or a tea cup sneakily incorporated into the stones of a walkway… Some of my first grade computer students have trouble with certain vocabulary words (they keep referring to the monitor as the “computer,” etc), and I thought this would make a fun way to review.

hidden pictures smaller

I chose twelve words in all and sketched up an underwater coral reef scene. All those plants and fishy shapes made it really hard to hide the boxy shapes and straight lines in the vocab words I’d chosen, but the end result was pretty fun. You can download and print out your own by clicking here. I tested it on a pair of kids this morning- a brother and sister who are eight and nine, and they handed them back to me with their approval and assurance that they didn’t think it was too easy or too hard as well as a few notes scribbled on the backs about who finished first. I’m going to use it in class in another week, and will see then how the first graders handle it. I’m hoping it takes them a little under ten minutes to complete, while working in groups. If you try it, let me know how your kids fare.

3 Comments »

  1. zebranay Said:

    Good idea teach. I bet your kids enjoyed it.

  2. tomnochera Said:

    I especially liked where the compact disc was placed, as well as the computer key.

    • kirinjirafa Said:

      Sneaky, sneaky 😉


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

